Reviews & Presentations

Serenity front cover.png
SV back cover.png

REVIEWS OF...

Serenity View: Poems & Images of the Blue Ridge Mountains 

Received 5 Star Review from Readers' Favorite

Book Reviews and Award Contest 

"Dr. Marlene has authored a gem...This book is a treasure...In today's pandemic stress, Dr. Marlene draws each reader to a place of serenity."

"Marlene, I just sat down and read your beautiful poems!!! You have captured such beauty and insight from the mountains, and I can SO relate!!!

It's why we always feel so rejuvenated after spending time at Mountain Air. Thanks for sharing yur talent with others!!! You have quite a gift!" M.L. 5-15-21

"Reading our poems. You are brilliant. Enjoying reading. Nature inspired right up my alley" C.S. 6-8-21

"Marlene. ...We really enjoyed your book" A.K. 6-6-21

"Tree Neighbors and What Would the Apple Tree Say are favorites so far. I am a tree lover and partial to everything about them." P.S. 6-15-21

"I'm enjoying the poems and lovely photography - How talented you are!...Its been a real joy I loved the photos of mountain flowers...It was so refreshing to see your  wildflower pictures" J.M. 6-17-21

John C. Campbell Folk School Craft Shop, Brasstown, Georgia reviewed Serenity View and noted on June 5, 

"A love letter to Blue Ridge."

"One of my favorites is Alphabet Poetry.  Kind of an abbreviated form of Haiku.   Makes one think…" M.W. 6-15-21

5star-flat-web.png
91743828-BFFA-4023-8653-61969A23C7F1.JPG

June 24, 2021.  The poems and story behind the book, Serenity View, were read by Dr. Marlene MD at the Storytelling at Ellijay Playhouse, Ellijoy, Georgia. 

patchmaster photo book.jpg

"Beautiful book. I especially [love] this poem out of the ones I read so far"   

Poem is "Hugging a Tree"

Boca-Delray Masonic Lodge No.171 Educational Series Speaker 

"My Introduction to Toastmasters"

May 20, 2021

I had the honor to give a presentation about my journey and the benefits of the public speaking club, Toastmasters. Through storytelling, I reviewed the basics of public speaking and how to make a great first impression. Excellent question and answer session followed the presentation. 

Reviews:

"Great insight about public speaking" 

"Love your stories" 

"Easy to follow and understand" 

D109 picture 5-2021.png
chania ad.png

"Educational Moments for Toastmasters and Beyond" was the workshop I presented on for Toastmasters D109 Conference comprising Italy, Greece, Switzerland, Austria

 

It was given virtually Sunday 16 May 2021 at 10.00am CEST

 

Moments to engage, educate and empower both ourselves and those around us occur all of the time. These educational moments are often overlooked during the course of the day and at meetings. The workshop will bring these ideas to you, in a simple, easy to understand format. The public speaking pearls are presented in single page format using picture quotes, drawings, and photographs. You will become more engaged, educated, and empowered by listening to this workshop. Bring these pertinent ideas to your club. Watch as your audience not only embraces the moment but thrives. Engage, educate, empower with moments of education.

The full presentation of picture quotes is free to all clubs Experience art, nature, words of wisdom & storytelling during the interactive workshop. A full PDF version of the presentation that will be used during the workshop, can be available upon request

Reviews: 

"Very insightful. Love how you incorporated the conferences' virtual backgrounds into your presentation" 

"Thanks for reminding me that moments of education are all around us" 

"Totally enjoyed your storytelling techniques and photos" 

"Great ideas to bring back to our club"

"Congratulations. Your manuscript The Day the Unicorns Came to Delray Beach was chosen as first runner-up in the Delray Beach Pen to Pandemic short story contest. Well-done." 
 
Kathleen Baldwin                                                                                             (11-13-2020)
Moderator, Delray Beach Writers' Studio
on behalf of the Delray Pen to Pandemic committee 
 
Delray Beach Pen to Pandemic short story contest was sponsored by Delray Beach Library, Delray Beach Historical Society, and the Delray Beach Writers' Studio
Delray Beach, Florida [contest October 2020]

Shewky, B., (December 24, 2020), Writers' Studio names winner of COVID-19 story competition, South Florida Sun-Sentinel 

Fagan, F., (February 4, 2021), Delray short story competition announces winner during ruff year, Palm Beach Post
delray beach library.jpg
Screenshot 2021-02-13 082308.png
"Certificate of Appreciation...For being a Workshop Presenter 
 
'Educational Moments for Toastmasters and Beyond',
at the District 47 Virtual Empowerment Weekend June 12-14, 2020"
Testimonials
"Great delivery Marlene! Thank you for your presentation. Very creative slides." 
"Wonderful tips to incorporate into our club"   
"Definitely starting this at our club this year"
"This is a very valid lesson for me to learn" 
Toastmasters International
District 47, Southeast Florida and the Bahamas, 
Leonardo Burrows, DTM, District Director.  
 
Screenshot 2021-02-13 084311.png
"2019 Annual Scientific Meeting presentation...thank you once again on behalf of the AAPS Board of Directors, CME Committee, members, and staff for your participation... Your contribution helped to make this year's meeting a great success."

 

Testimonials

"Humorous, entertaining and educational"  

"Validating and empowering" 

"Very passionate, enjoyed the stories..."

"Good lecturer, made talk interesting and engaging

American Association of Physician Specialists, Inc.

"Presentation workshop "Physician Well-being-Preventing Burnout" June 25, 2019

Keely M. Clarke

Director of CME, Meetings, and Membership (7-31-2019)

Screenshot 2021-02-13 084523.png

The Faculty American Chiropractic Association (FACA) thank you for your presentation at the FACA Symposium, June 2020.

 

"From Apps to Wearables: Using Hands-On Resources to Teach Nutrition in 2020" 

 

This was a one-day virtual seminar in collaboration with the American Chiropractic Association.  Faculty and campus leaders from the Chiropractic teaching communities discussed developments in chiropractic education. 

"Dr. Wolf, Your presentation was such a hit. Thank you so much for being a part of the FACA Symposium. It was wonderful having you" 

Screenshot 2021-03-10 231348.png
Screenshot%202021-03-10%20231348_edited.

"Your Critical and Creative Presentation was a hit!"  

Title: From Apps to Wearables: Teaching to Engage, Educate, Empower 

 

Testimonials

  • "I’d like to thank you for your wonderful contribution to our Virtual Critical & Creative Thinking Conference. Your session was praised by attendees."

  • "Engaging teaching strategies "

  • "The presentation was wonderfully engaging and interesting--I was able to follow along very well, even as someone unfamiliar with the medical field :)" 

  • "Hope you continue to share your creative works with colleagues! "

 

Warmly, 

Kathleen Gibson-Dee, Ph.D. 

Founding Director of The Critical & Creative Thinking Conference

Regional Chancellor's Assistant for Strategic Initiatives

Faculty Member, Leadership, Policy, & Lifelong Learning 

College of Education

727-873-4451 

USF St. Petersburg campus 

Screenshot 2021-03-10 230929.png

"The mission of this conference is to provide a forum for sharing successful strategies and empowering discussions related to embedding teaching and learning of critical and creative thinking into our work as educators and our passion as lifelong learners. We seek to provide a balance of research and practice based workshops and presentations within a community of peers."

https://www.stpetersburg.usf.edu/events/critical-creative-thinking-conference/

  • Renowned for its innovative, student-centered educational programs, the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences and Professional Studies in the College of Medicine at Drexel University provides regionally unique PhD and Master's level academic offerings.

  • The College of Medicine's MD program trains future physicians in the science and art of medicine. At Drexel, our medical students learn to combine cutting-edge technology with the highest level of compassion in the practice of medicine.

https://drexel.edu/medicine/academics/md-program/

 

Drexel 2020 flyer1.png

"Public Speaking Skills in the Professional Environment" 

This presentation was given to the Graduate Student Association (GSA) of Drexel University, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. The GSA is composed of graduate students in the Engineering and Medical schools and their professors. 

Screenshot 2021-03-11 180251.png

Testimonial 

"I had an interview the very next day, and attending your presentation helped me personally."